Chichester Cathedral

History of Anglia

Anglia Examinations has been based in Chichester, England, since 1993. Anglia offers a comprehensive and structured programme of assessing English language competence, from beginner through to full competence as an expert user. This Step-by-Step approach to testing encourages and motivates students to make clear and effective progress.

The highlights of Anglia since 1993

  • Cyprus

    Anglia Examinations  acquired by Chichester College from Michael Middleton and Dr Raistrick, Cyprus as Anglia Examination Syndicate Ltd.

  • First Tests

    First end of year tests held in Cyprus delivered from Chichester College: through two franchises – Michael Middleton and Polis Kaitis, whom Michael appointed to share the territory.

  • New Countries

    Anglia Examinations starts operating in the Netherlands, Bulgaria and Argentina.

  • Step-by-Step

    Step-by-Step system is defined with syllabus.

  • New Levels

    Two levels added to make the 10-level suite.

  • Speaking

    Speaking tests added.

  • Expansion

    The Anglia exams are now available in Venezuela, Spain, Portugal, Azerbaijan, Turkey, Croatia, Bulgaria, Kosovo, Serbia and Russia.

  • QCA Approval

    Anglia and OCNW achieve QCA Approval for the top four levels of the General English suite of tests.

  • New Countries

    Franchise agreements are signed for China and Taiwan.

  • Growth

    The exams are being taken in: Uruguay, Chile, Paraquay, Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Panama, Costa Rica, Libya, Malaysia, Cambodia, Thailand, Vietnam and Hong Kong.

  • AIM Awards

    Anglia and AIM Awards partner to achieve Ofqual approval for the top four levels of the General English suite of tests. 

  • Revised Exams

    Updated and revised Anglia exams are successfully being introduced worldwide, with this project we also updated the Anglia brand.

  • More Countries

    More franchise agreements are signed and Anglia is now available in: Mexico, Brazil, United States, Italy, Slovakia, Greece, Czech Republic, Romania, Nigeria, Morocco, Mongolia and Macau.